KEY OUT! Announce New Album “Anthropomorphia” Out 26th June (Half A Cow Records)

Sydney band Key Out release their second album, “Anthropomorphia”, on Half A Cow Records, on Friday 26 June 2020. The lead single “Chorus” made Double J Radio’s rotation playlist and best “New Music” on Sydney’s 2SER 107.3, and was played across the Austereo Network via Rebel Rock FM in Queensland, Melbourne's 3RRR 102.7 and community radio all across Australia.

"That bassline, those synths, the sharpness of the guitars, the vocal delivery; if you're a fan of post-punk and atmospheric indie rock, you'll love this new single from Sydney's Key Out." Double J

Anthropomorhia is a bedroom recording featuring acoustic guitars and ageing synthesizers, toy percussion and drums, sequencers and vocal harmonies. It has the intimacy of a home recording, but the polish of Wayne Connolly’s mixing and mastering (Amy Shark, Matt Corby).

The home ‘studio’ gave the band the freedom to chop, edit and rearrange original demos and the songs changed. Electronics were swapped out for acoustics, and analog drums for sequencers. Rock songs became electroish-post punk (Chorus), filtered summery pop (Buildings) and close mic’d folk (Dog).

The album’s ten tracks clock in at just over 20 minutes. The longer tracks on Anthropomorphia would have been short on 2019’s What (Do) You See. “We’ve always liked the complete sounding two-minute pop songs of Joyce Manor or Sneeze or The Magnetic Fields or Guided by Voices, but they weren’t our template” says Paddy Haid (ex-Sarah Blasko, Ides of Space)  “we just built songs around the important parts, and let them run their course”.

The album will be available on limited edition marbled vinyl and via digital platforms through Half A Cow. 

The band is looking forward to playing songs from the album live in a reopened world or via digital channels in the near future.

Key Out is Paddy Haid, Rohan Geddes and Caroline Wake.

“Anthropomorphia” Tracklist:
01.  Buildings
02.  Chorus
03.  Stray
04.  Dog
05.  Fire
06.  Bird
07.  True
08.  Moonlight
09.  Echolocation
10.  Edge

KEY OUT Facebook | Instagram | Band Camp

All Media Enquiries & Interview Requests: 
RiSH Publicity