EAGULLS! Release Debut ‘Self-titled’ Album 11th April (Popfrenzy)

'One of the most anticipated albums of 2014' - NME

Since forming in 2009, Leeds-based Eagulls have become synonymous with a discontented, disillusioned kind of anger, moulded into bullets of post punk that’s rife with urgency and aggression.

Brought together by drummer Henry Ruddell and guitarist Mark ‘Goldy’ Goldsworthy, they were later joined by friends Liam Matthews on guitar and Tom Kelly on bass. After struggling to find a singer that fitted with their vision for the band, they roped in George Mitchell to be their frontman without ever having heard him sing before.

It was a risk that paid off, with their debut single ‘Council Flat Blues’ written a week after their first rehearsal together. It was an attention-grabbing introduction to the band: A seething cut of vitriolic riffs and barked lyrics. It announced Eagulls as an uncompromising, invigorating burst of excitement in a musical landscape littered with bands more focused on fashion and nostalgia.

Their debut album sets out as a heavier, darker and more exhilarating offering from the quintet. ‘Nerve Endings’, opening track and first taste of the record, encapsulates that in throbbing bass, with Mitchell hollering “can’t find my end” whilst ‘Fester-Blister’ provides an anthemic streak cutting through a wall of frenetic noise. ‘Tough Luck’ takes inspiration from outside the punk pool associated with Eagulls, brought together by a rumbling Joy Division-esque bassline.

It’s underlying feelings of frustration and sardonicism that fuels Eagulls and lights a match under their first LP. Though they admit to there being “lighter moments” on the record, on the whole it’s a gloomy, overcast affair.

Track Listing:
01. Nerve Endings
02. Hollow Visions
03. Yellow Eyes
04. Tough Luck
05. Amber Veins
06. Possessed
07. Footsteps
08. Fester Blister
09. Opaque
10. Soulless Youth

Radio tracks:
Nerve Endings (Track 1) Possessed (Track 6) Tough Luck (Track 4)

For fans of: Joy Division, My Bloody Valentine, The Cure, Dinosaur Jr, Male Bonding, Iceage, No Age

"It's nasty, yet for all the ugliness, Eagulls are never anything less than vital.8/10 Album of the Week, NME
"They're an unshakable and on this, their long-awaited first LP, an unstoppable force" - 9/10 Drowned In Sound
"Theirs is a fierce and angry sound, with elements of grunge, hardcore, post-punk and shades of goth, too. But it's also packed with hooksThe Guardian
"Post-punk might not be new, but like their name, with a few tweaks and some bold personality, Eagulls have defiantly made it their own.8/10 Q Magazine
"The Eags are at their best when they bump into a memorable melody, as on "Tough Luck" and "Possessed" – 120 Minutes-worthy blasts of hate certain to get shit popping next time you find yourself rocking out in an abandoned North England coal fieldRolling Stone (US)

"File somewhere neatly between fellow British bruisers Savages and Denmark's punishing IceageSPIN

EAGULLS debut 'Self-titled' Album out in April (Popfrenzy).

For more information, please contact:
RiSH Publicity
E: info@rishpublicity.com