MOGWAI! Celebrating 20 Years Of MOGWAI ‘CENTRAL BELTERS’ out 23 October!

Celebrating 20 Years Of MOGWAI 'CENTRAL BELTERS' out 23 October

Mogwai announce the release of Central Belters, a stunning set of career highlights and rarities, available to buy in a limited edition 3xCD or 6xLP box set via Rock Action Records from 23 October. Tracks on the collection span the band’s 20 year career taking in highlights from their debut long-player Mogwai Young Team (1997) all the way through to last year’s Rave Tapes, the band’s first ever top 10 album.

Mogwai are Dominic Aitchison (bass), Stuart Braithwaite (guitar, vocals), Martin Bulloch (drums), Barry Burns (keyboard, computer, guitar) and John Cummings (guitar, computer). They formed in Glasgow in 1995 as a quartet, with Burns yet to come into the fold. After a succession of well-received releases and having developed a reputation for their fearsome live shows, Mogwai released their debut long-player Mogwai Young Team in 1997.Its follow-up, Come On Die Young, followedin 1999, the first Mogwai album to feature Burns. 2001’s Rock Action found the group introducing more electronic tones to their palette, a broadening of scope furthered on Happy Songs For Happy People (2003), the album that saw the band making substantial progress in the US.Mogwai’s fifth studio full-length, Mr Beast (2006), followed three years later and was described by the band’s then manager Alan McGee as “probably the best art rock album I’ve been involved with since [My Bloody Valentine’s] Loveless”. A year later, they released their soundtrack to Zidane: A 21st-century Portrait, and 12 months on came the release of the band’s first entirely self-produced long-player, The Hawk Is Howling (2008). 2011’s Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will was an expansive, confident set that was followed in 2013 by the release of the Les Revenants OST.

Contrary to the usual state of affairs, entering a third decade sees Mogwai a band in the ascendancy. Last year’s Rave Tapes was their first to crack the top 10, and yielded a worldwide sell out tour, including two shows at London’s Royal Festival Halland headline sets on stages at Glastonbury and Latitude, amongst others, before the latest in their career-spanning set of stunning EPs, Music Industry 3. Fitness Industry 1, closed out the year. The release of Central Belters follows a run of acclaimed sell-out nights at Glasgow Barrowlands and London’s Roundhouse in June. The latter formed part of an ATP season of Mogwai-curated shows at the iconic London venue, for which they hand-picked a line-up of seminal artists that have challenged, intrigued and inspired over the past two decades, including Public Enemy, GZA, Godspeed You! Black Emperor & The Jesus & Mary Chain. Further 20th anniversary celebrations include the launch of a limited edition Mogwai rum in conjunction with The Good Spirits Company and a collaboration with Focus Scotland on a series of limited edition skateboard decks and t-shirts.

CD 1
1. Summer
2. Helicon 1
4. Christmas Steps
5. I Know You Are But What Am I?
6. Hunted By A Freak
7. Stanley Kubrick
8. Take Me Somewhere Nice
9. 2 Rights Make 1 Wrong
10. Mogwai Fear Satan

1. Auto Rock
2. Travel Is Dangerous
3. Friend Of The Night
4. We're No Here
5. I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead
6. The Sun Smells Too Loud
7. Batcat
8. Mexican Grand Prix
9. Rano Pano
10. How To Be A Werewolf
11. Wizard Motor
12. Remurdered
13. The Lord Is Out Of Control
14. Teenage Exorcists

1. Hugh Dallas
2. Half time
3. Burn Girl Prom Queen
4. Devil Rides
5. Hasenheide
6. Tell Everybody That I love them
7. Earth Division
8. Hungry Face
9. D to E
10. My Father My King

Mogwai's 'Central Belters' (3-Disc Retrospective) is released Friday 23rd October 2015 on Rock Action Records / Windsong.

For more information please contact: