THE ELECTRIC GUITARS! ‘Sideways Changeling’ Album Out 19th March

The Electric Guitars are about to release their second album, ‘Sideways Changeling’ for all flame-brained beatniks, slobbering gutter trash and ecstatic surfers of the cosmos. The album includes 40-odd minutes of Stooges-esque skronk rave-ups, mangled Phil-Spector-via-Jesus-&-Mary-Chain melodies, grandiose Jean-Claude Vannier affectations and epic explorations of nihilism and psychic doom. It was recorded by Paul Maybury in a disused Depression-era 3-D printing facility in Melbourne, Australia, and created by the disused Depression-era brains of The Electric Guitars.

It will be released on their own (and therefore prestigious) Volume Creep label, as was their first, self-titled, LP in 2015, and the recently released 7” double A-side single “Three Body Problem”/”Death from Beside”. “Three Body Problem” is nearly the opening track on the “Sideways Changeling” LP (preceded only by the short, tense, instrumental title track), but “Death from Beside” is only available on the 7”.  

“Death from Beside” has an accompanying video, containing nothing but footage of hot vintage speedway action and one for “Three Body Problem” is about to be revealed. This one was filmed by the band and started out intending to be a scathing commentary on “fake news” and media control, in the style of John Waters but ended up being about something far less tangible, in the style of David Lynch. It might still be about “fake news” and media control, who knows (or can tell)?

The painting that was used on the cover was by our friend and genius Trev Comley, of Adelaide, SA. It’s the same painting all over the album – just messed with and zoomed into and out of.  

” … explodes into incandescent action, and so does your head. This is some weird shit, in the very best psychedelic sense"  - Patrick Emery, MESS+NOISE (review of ‘The Electric Guitars’ LP) 

1. Sideways Changeling (1:01) 
2. Three Body Problem (6:02)
3. Sadistically Speaking (4:00) 
4. Velvet Hell (6:47)
5. Circuitry for the Devil (1:17)
6. Postcard from the Deep (4:33) 
7. Nitro Venus (4:08)
8. Eternal Life Crisis (11:50)
9. Dressed In Black (3:36)

Recorded and mixed by Paul Maybury (King Gizzard, Powerline Sneakers, Cable Ties, HEAPS of others) at A Secret Location. Mastered by Joseph Carra (everyone ever) at Crystal Mastering. 
The Electric Guitars will release their ‘Sideways Changeling’ album on Monday 19th March and Launch the record at Woody’s in Collingwood, Melbourne on Friday 25th May.
Facebook | Instagram | Band Camp | Shop | YouTube
RiSH Publicity