AIDAN MOFFAT & RM HUBBERT! ‘Here Lies The Body’ Out 11th May 2018 (Rock Action)

Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert have released a new video for their second single "Party On" (directed by Paul Fegan & Julian Schwanitz) from their upcoming collaborative album Here Lies The Body.

On the most upbeat number on the record, Moffat says. "Party On is the only song on the album that started with a beat. In an attempt to write at least one song that we could kind of dance to, I looped a samba sample, sent it over to Hubby, and he wrote the guitar part around it – and I gave it the extremely positive, but not entirely serious, working title of "Party On". When I started to write the words, though – about trying to jumpstart a rusty old sex machine on date night – the title seemed perfect: it says "Let's just keep going, let's do something daft, and don't let time get the better of us. And, most importantly, let's have a meaningless, stress-free shag." 

Here Lies The Body follows the story after a chance encounter of two old flames as they enjoy hen and stag parties in Blackpool – as it moves forwards (and backwards) with wit and wisdom, exploring themes of love, family, fortune telling, deceit, death, Schrodinger’s cat, the multiverse … and marshmallows. Equally multidimensional is the music contained within, weaving beautiful, spidery guitar work, haunting piano lines, lush strings, delicate percussion, fizzing 808 beats, synth pop, samba, and moments of jazz, while Moffat’s rich voice carries the narrative in rich grumbles, hushed whispers, and revealing spoken word.

"The album title has a dual meaning – sex and death. It can be read as romantic surrender, but of course it’s also a phrase you’ll find on a tombstone,” Moffat elaborates.

01.  Cockcrow 
02.  Mz Locum  
03.  She Runs 
04.  Quantum Theory Love Song 
05.  Wolves Of The Wood 
06.  Keening For A Dead Love 
07.  Zoltar Speaks  
08.  Party On  
09.  Everything Goes 
10.  Fringe

RiSH Publicity