NICOLE ATKINS! New Album “Italian Ice” Out 29th May (Single Lock Records / Cooking Vinyl Australia)

The wild magic of the Jersey Shore boardwalk has inspired musicians across generations, but it takes a uniquely distinct vision to go find that slice of regional wonder in Northern Alabama. On Italian Ice (May 29 / Single Lock Records / Cooking Vinyl Australia), that’s exactly what Nicole Atkins has done, taking over the hallowed Muscle Shoals Sound Studio with a one-of-a-kind band featuring members of the Bad Seeds, Dap-Kings, the legendary Swampers and more. “Musically, it doesn’t make any sense,” says Atkins half-jokingly. “But I’m a superfan of all of them, and we ended up with the weirdest, craziest band ever. It just became this awesome misfit party.”

For the Italian Ice sessions at Muscle Shoals Sound studio, Nicole gathered a group of her “best musical friends” – who just so happen to be Jim Sclavunos and David “Moose” Sherman of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Dap-Kings’ Binky Griptite, and drummer McKenzie Smith (St. Vincent, Midlake) – along with Spooner Oldham and David Hood of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section. Co-produced by Nicole and Ben Tanner (Alabama Shakes), Italian Ice also features special guests Seth Avett, John Paul White and Erin Rae, and songs co-written with Hamilton Leithauser, Britt Daniel and Carl Broemel from My Morning Jacket.

Named dually for her favorite summer treat growing up in Asbury Park and an alter ego she’s taken on while shooting dice, Italian Ice has been described by Nicole as “an acid trip through my record collection,” at turns as opulent as symphonic pop and as gritty as garage punk with shades of psych-rock, honky-tonk and girl-group melodrama. Conjuring the romance and danger of the Jersey Shore, Italian Ice’s eleven tracks ultimately channel an endless summer set to the sounds of the AM radio dial.

Watch the video for “Captain," which features guest vocals from Spoon’s Britt Daniel and finds Nicole starring in the most fashion-forward 80s infomercial ever:

Pre-Order Italian Ice here, including on 180 Gram Audiophile Black and limited-edition Translucent Ruby vinyl:

Nicole Atkins is a songwriter and performer with a fearless and frank style. Fans of Atkins’ previous release Goodnight Rhonda Lee include Rolling Stone (which before named her a “Top 10 Artist to Watch”), NPR, and American Songwriter. In addition to writing, recording, and playing music, the Nashville-by-way-of-Asbury Park musician is an art school graduate who specialized in wildlife illustration and is an active painter.

1.  AM Gold
2.  Mind Eraser
3.  Domino
4.  Forever
5.  Captain
6.  Never Going Home Again
7.  St. Dymphna
8.  Far From Home
9.  A Road To Nowhere
10. These Old Roses
11. In The Splinters

Nicole Atkins Online Official Website | Facebook

All Media Enquiries & Interview Requests: 
RiSH Publicity